What I have learned about college so far

As many of you may know I just finished my first semester of college and it isn’t always easy but it is so worth it. I finished the semester with 3 A’s and 2 B’s. Definitely could have been better but I’m not complaining too much. In the beginning of the semester I had no idea what I was doing, I just knew I didn’t want to be there. I cried for like the first 2 days straight and then for the next two weeks off and on. I was a mess. I didn’t leave my room unless I had to eat or go to class. I found myself only knowing four people and one of them was my roommate! Eventually, I got out of my funk and met some friends in my classes. I am doing fine now and I don’t lay in my bed and cry all day! But enough about that, I wanted to share with you guys what I’ve learned so far.

One big thing for me was friends. I didn’t know anyone there and I had no friends until the second month! I had this big idea that I was going to meet so many people my first week and establish my friend group! I was so wrong as I said before. The most important thing I learned from that was just do your own thing and friends will come. I learned to not be so pressed about making friends because everyone is also trying to figure out what they are doing. Also, I go to a pretty diverse school so there were plenty of people to choose from but I just wanted so sure. My dad and mom called me every day and their questions were:

“Did you make any friends?”

“Did you eat?”

“Did you leave the room?”

“Are you okay?”

I answered all except the last one truthfully because I didn’t want them to worry. I told them I was okay but I really wasn’t! I wanted to come home so bad! I now have a couple of friends and so it is not so bad! I am the type of person who really likes sitting in my room to chill but she makes me leave the room and actually participate in the world so that’s good.

Freshmen 15 is a real thing! If you don’t know what it is, it’s a supposed myth that people have that when you go to college that first year you will gain 15 pounds. I can attest to the fact that this is not a myth. Not everyone gains 15 pounds but those of us who sit on our butts and eat all day, like me, do. I really try to walk a little more and I say I’m going to work out but then I just don’t. We have a nice rec center and the town I go to college in has nice sidewalks but I would much rather catch up on sleep. Work out in college! And it is so easy to eat whatever you want or eat 2 packs of ramen but really don’t do that! It’s so bad for you. Not going to lie, I am guilty of eating absolutely anything I can get my hands on, but it’s so bad.

Another thing that I think is super self-explanatory is that you should study. Even if you don’t think you need to. Like you need to shut up and go study. Don’t study so much that you make yourself crazy but definitely study. I had to learn this the hard way. I was taking a sociology class and the first test was rolling around and I thought I will be fine; the information is common sense. I love that I was so wrong because I think I know everything sometimes. I got a 73 on the first test and that was a good little wake up call. I ended the semester with an A but what was I thinking?? And another thing is start studying early, because nine times out of ten the professor has already given you the information in the beginning of the semester. It won’t hurt to start early, trust me!

Okay so a lot of people think you can just not go to class for a couple days out of the semester and while I can agree that that everyone needs mental health days, you should always go to class. This semester I went to every class every day with an exception of the days I didn’t hear my alarm ring. (like 2 classes) But at the school I go to the attendance is a part of the grade. Even if it wasn’t I would go. It’s so important to go to class. Like you don’t want to miss anything because in high school it will be fine but in college you missed about a week of high school classes. Maybe more.

No one cares what you’re wearing. Like not as much as in high school. You can go to class with whatever on and everyone understands because we all know that maybe they were up late and they are just tired. I never really care what people say about my clothes but I like that in college they really don’t care.

So overall I had a good first semester and I’m really proud of myself. I can only go up from here and I have every intention to.

That is all for now. Remember to be happy.

Zaria 🙂

One thought on “What I have learned about college so far

Leave a Reply

